We are the Champions, and some hot, slow, sweaty running.

Let’s start with a little 90’s humor. When your dog’ s name is Brixton, and her nickname is Bricky… and you grew up in the 90s….

IMG_7343

IN MANSIONS AND BENZES!

Meme happens. And it gets me EVERYTIME. Also, my Microsoft Paint skillz are clearly ON POINT. My career opportunities outside of the world of higher ed academics are expanding, obviously 😉

Okay, onto the rest of life.

We won!!

Below is my softball team. We went undefeated this season, and finished up on Friday night by winning the championship game. It was high-stakes : we won HOT PINK t-shirts, so the motivation level was high. In all honestly, I’ve been in this league and on my team for 8 years, and it is a “fun” league – not super competitive, but it is still nice to win. We spent my first 6 years being mostly in last place, so these last two have been awesome.

Weeeeeee are the champions.

Weeeeeee are the champions.

In “life” news, our washer machine is still out of commission. The motor is dead, and our landlord has to buy a new one and have it sent to us (and he’s out of country, making this even more fun)… yippee. So I spent the weekend washing clothes are my parents house:

A MINI filled with laundry.

A MINI filled with laundry, and a small dog.

And turning my parents porch into a clothing line… while drinking beer. I found this Forgotten Boardwalk Ale in my local liquor store, and had to try it since the name was “Funnel Cake.” It wasn’t my favorite, but it wasn’t bad – had a sort of cream soda aftertaste. Drinkable, but definitely not chuggable (which isn’t always a bad thing).

IMG_7420

Clothesline, schmoseline.

Let’s get down to runtown.

Five miles were on the menu, and so Saturday morning, off I went. It was hot, humid, and slightly miserable. I am a wimp when it comes to heat, honestly. I wore a hat. I now have no idea how people wear hats. My head felt like it was boiling the entire time. I’m going to have to invest in a pair of Oakley’s or something, because it has been SO sunny and hot, but I haven’t been comfortable running in sunglasses and now I know, ALSO hats.

First training run, slow, hot, COMPLETED.

First training run, slow, hot, COMPLETED.

Mom checked in – she went the smart way and did her 5 miles on the treadmill. I try to torture myself and always do my long run outside if I possibly can. I did walk some, with the sun and humidity, and my wimpy-ness. I’ll have to work on that.  I hadn’t done more than 3 miles in two months, so I’m building up steam here.

Sunday, kickboxing happened. Felt tired as heck!

Monday, still feeling tired as heck! Some weeks just zonk me.

Tuesday, hit the road again after work. The sun was still out strong again at 6pm, so I tried my hat again, to see if I was just being a baby on Saturday. Nope, I hate hats for running! Now I know for sure. Head. On. Fire. My legs were heavy, and I was just… tired. I even walked some on my little tiny 3 mile run. I felt like a failure, and was reminded that running humbles me, when everything else in life seems easy.

Not so much having it.

Tuesday? Not so much having it.

Post run, I needed comfort to feel whole again (aka FOOD!!!). So I whipped up a batch of my great grandma’s polish crepes – Palacinke Pancakes, the recipe said, when we found them. I have great memories of these as a kid, my great grandmother would make HUGE batches of them and give us a plate with 3 or 4 stacks covered in saran wrap and foil, that we could freeze in the right amount to pull out for breakfast. Most of us used jelly on them and rolled them up tight, my brother sprinkled them with sugar only. I don’t make these all that often now, but when I do, it feels like home.

YUM.

Comfort food, though, THAT I can get on board for.

1 1/2 c flour, 1 pint milk(whole works best), 3 eggs, 2 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/4 tsp salt – and there you have it. Super simple, and makes your house smell amazing.

One final awesome note: my cousin works at Walter Reed Medical Center, and when the Mets were there visiting the military and their families, she snagged me my first piece of memorabilia : a signed ball. I was so very excited to get this. Best cousin ever award!

LETS GO METS!

LETS GO METS!

This entry was posted in Brixton, food, Mets, running, softball and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

