The dog that stole Thanksgiving

And it wasn’t even my own little dog. She mostly just laid in my house and peed on things (and in her diaper).

IMG_8866

But was still the cutest, I promise, Brixton 🙂

But before we even get there, let’s talk about the muffins I made a few days before the holiday. I was stressing on Tuesday, knowing I should have been running that night but my stomach disagreed. Instead of running, I poured myself a glass of red wine and set to baking, because it makes me happy. I had found a recipe earlier in the day for Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins at Mel’s Kitchen Cafe (an absolute FAVE site of mine!) that looked incredibly easy (BLENDER ONLY REQUIRED!), so it was ON!

IMG_8742

Spoiler alert, they came out gloriously. They were soft and delicious. They’re gluten free, even, which I am not, but the texture was amazing. They were somehow less dense than the usual banana muffins I’ve made. I will absolutely be making these again. I also ended up making Mel’s S’Mores Cookie Bars for thanksgiving, and goddamn they were also SO GOOD.

Now, onto Thanksgiving!

On a whim, I woke up at my usual crack of dawn with the dog, then after a quick nap, when I woke up around 8:30, I nudged Boyfriend and asked if he wanted to come for a “Turkey Trot.” After clarifying that it just meant running for any amount of time he would actually join me for, he actually agreed. It was a Christmas miracle! My boyfriend is not a morning person. He generally does his work outs at night, and does not function much before noon.

IMG_8774

I had no idea this little lake existed a mile from our house… probably because it is within a golf course.

I let him dictate everything: our speed, our distance, and our route. I just wore my watch so that I could see (for my own knowledge) what our final distance ended up being. Boyfriend is shy about running with me because he knows I have endurance, and he is more of a sprinter: while I can run slow forever, he sprints and dies, sprints and dies. Hopefully this let him get over that, and maybe once and a while he will join me now: because we ended up going 4 miles total! We walked a little bit when he got winded but it was great. It was nice to have some company, and a great start to the day, since we part ways for Thanksgiving: he to his family in South Jersey and me to mine in Central.

Holidays in my family are usually loud, messy, informal, and generally boozy. This year was no different. My Aunt and cousin were in town to add to the rest of the family, and along with them came three extra dogs. That means there was upwards of 20 people and 5 dogs in my grandparents’ average sized old home. I am a weirdo who doesn’t eat turkey, so I brought something a little different: my turkey chili!

 

Above is a pic of just the ladies from Thanksgiving: all of my aunts on my dad’s side, my mom, grandma, cousins, and niece. Missing was my SIL, who is a nurse and had to work, unfortunately. I am very lucky to have so many relatives, and many so close by 🙂

Now, let me introduce you to what my title means:

IMG_8788

This is why the phrase “I can’t even” was invented. Because I can’t even handle how cute this dang dog is.

This 2lb, 3-month-old Jack/pom mix named MiMi jumped into our laps and our hearts this weekend. My Aunt brought her on her trip from Virginia, and we all fell in love. MiMi stole the show the entire weekend:

After she’d do things like romp with the cat or my niece or a toy, she’d hop onto the couch, pick a corner and PTFO. Like a puppy should. It was absolutely amazing. I wish I could hug puppies for a few hours a day, then go back home (so someone else can get up in the middle of the night with them and clean up their messes, etc).  Oddly, I feel the same way about kids 😉

The day after Thanksgiving is officially CHRISTMAS DAY in my house.

IMG_8831

Cheesy sweaters for everyone!

Our house is officially decorated. It is wonderful.

I promised I’d get back to talking about running, right? Well, you’ll have to wait for my next post. Whoopsy!

Happy beginning of the Holiday season to all of my awesome readers!

What is your favorite part about the holiday season?

This entry was posted in baking, dogs, holiday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

