Spring (race) Fever in the Winter

I love that being a runner feeds my type-A personality so well.

I love that I get to plan out races months ahead of time, giving me little things to mark on my calendar and training plans to plot out.

I love that planning for races means that I can get my head out of this all-of-sudden cold winter. I knew the cold was coming, but the weather was being so nice and unseasonal that it seems like quite a shock to the system.

On Sunday, I set my plan into action, and made it real.

NJM2016_Registration

I am officially registered for my Spring Half!

 

Okay, this isn’t too much of a surprise, since this will be the 5th year I have run this race (New Jersey Half Marathon).ย  I love the course (and it’s glorious flatness), I love the race support, I love everything about it.

What is exciting this year? My MOM officially signed up with me!!!!

I am so excited that her 10 miler experience was so good that she wants to do it again – and go for that big fish: the HALF MARATHON! I am so proud of her. She is so much more confident now.

In the next few days I will be putting together a training schedule for the two of us, and will most certainly be blogging about our journey to the NJ Half Marathon on May 1, 2016 in Long Branch!

Along with that, I got my email that the race entry for the Spring Lake 5 will open up on February 7th. All of the exciting spring things are coming at me so quickly now! My BFF has always been suggesting races in the Spring to start getting herself back moving (she just had a beautiful little baby!), and we may also throw in this race: Totally Awesome 80s run. It is about 1.5 hours from us, but neither of us can pass up the opportunity to dress up, so it is a really good possibility.ย  Of course, I will be adding other races, but for now, it is great to have these already on the schedule to look forward to. OH! And in two weeks I have the 4 miler I mentioned a few weeks ago in Morristown!

My next doctorate class begins on Wednesday, and I am slowly starting to adjust to a different life – a life without a little doggie to take care of (and it was pretty intense care the last year), without a reason to rush home every day. It feels a little bit free, but still a lot sad. I’m sure this feeling will fade, and I already know that running has been helping me to heal. Sweating and keeping myself busy are my best friends right now!

Do you plan your races months in advance or can you just “wing” it? I am a failure at “winging” things! I love to have a plan!

This entry was posted in 5k, fitness, half marathon, mom, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring (race) Fever in the Winter

  1. That’s super exciting!! If I’m already training, then I can wing it, but I have to have a plan to train, ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on signing up and for being able to do it with your mom! I’m also trying to make my big race plans for the year, and I think I’m getting closer to a final plan for my spring race. Good luck on training!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

