On the Menu: May

Now that my half is done for the Spring, it’s time for me to get faster, shorter distances in for the summer. I ran the half at my mom’s pace, probably about 1 min/mi slower than I would have on my own (on a good day). My race schedule through July is stacked up, so I am excited to see if I can put it all out there and pull out some times in the 11’s or maybe even 10’s (min per mile).

For May, I have the Newport 10k this Saturday and the Spring Lake 5 Memorial Day weekend.

I am excited to run the Newport 10k. It is brand new to me, and I am excited to race and review it. It claims to be flat and fast, and boasts a ton of fasties, so I am psyched to watch the crowd from the back. I’m not much of a city girl, so driving into Jersey City makes me a liiiiiiittle bit nervous, but it will surely be early enough that everything will be super easy to navigate. Oddly, I’ve never run a 10k (there aren’t many around me), so it will be a PR no matter what it is! I’m hoping for miles in the 11 range.

After that, the Spring Lake 5 is a tried and true race for me. I’ve run it quite a few times, and love the huge crowds and the spirit. It is beautifully flat, as well, and it is my favorite place to race: down the shore. My best friend, mother, and another friend will be running as well – so this is one I am very much looking forward to. It is truly a “kick off to summer” for me. I’d LOVE to see my mile paces dip into the 10’s here (high 10’s I’m sure) so that would be a great “A” goal for me there. As a “B” goal, I’ll take some 11’s too. My goal is to try not to see 12’s this summer if I can help it! After that, it is all 5k’s for the rest of the summer (so far).

 

What else is on the menu? I’ve officially finished my class for the semester, so more time in the evenings/weekends to cook and bake! Thus, I tried out some fun new (to me) recipes this week.

First up, Drizzle Me Skinny’s Fiesta Taco Bubble Up Casserole:

TacoBake

This one was easy and yummy. It didn’t look like much going into the oven, but the biscuits bake up under it and raise it up! It was even good cold the next day when I was snacking. I will definitely make this again.

On Sunday, I brought this 5-Ingredient Bacon Asparagus Pasta from Gimme Some Oven over to my brother’s for Mother’s Day. It was a big hit! I used tortellini instead of linguine, and everyone loved it. It held up well to reheating for lunch Monday, as well.

IMG_1126

 

Sweets to round it out:

IMG_1119

These glorious looking cookies are S’Mores Hershey Kiss Blossom Cookies from Mel’s Kitchen Café! They are absolutely delicious. The graham cracker flavored cookie part was my favorite, and they were particularly good while the chocolate was still melty (but also yummy the next day too!). Mel’s Kitchen Café is a favorite place for me when I’m looking for something new to cook.

 

And of course, life is not complete without a beverage or two. Summer beers are in full effect and these two have made their way into my fridge this week:

IMG_1146

New Belgium Heavy Melon and Southern Tier 3 Citrus Peel Out. The Heavy Melon was enjoyed last night, and it was light and refreshing, without too much of that “fake” fruit flavor. It was still beer, not sickeningly sweet, either, which is always nice. The Citrus Peel Out hasn’t been opened yet, so that one will likely make it into my next post for a quick review.  Summer is one of my favorite times for beverages, with lots of wheat beers and sangria type items on the menu, so I am excited to see what else ends up in my fridge over the next couple of months.

 

What are you racing this May?

What’s your favorite summer beverage (adult or all-ages, too!)?

Leave a Reply

