Faith in the Process

The humidity I’ve been griping and groaning about for months and months now is GONE. Hallelujah, North East.

tumblr_n7rq2rbwf91smcbm7o1_500

 

For the record, I’m all about ankle boots and hoodies and jumping for joy that I can finally wear my (super cute) tantrum and safari print capris. I may have even had myself a little pumpkin spice coffee action after my long run last Saturday 🙂

However, last weekend I did not see the desired results that I had expected with the humidity drop off for my long run.

My scheduled run was 8 miles, and I felt pretty good going out! But, as it turns out, what felt decent was actually a lot slower than I’d expected. My first five miles were…. Almost at a fast walk pace for me.

img_4670

Note, my excellent Microsoft Paint skillz.

What. The. Heck.

Needless to say, as my Garmin ticked the miles by, I was pissed. I felt like those miles should have been 12:30s! They did NOT feel as sloggy as they looked on paper, damnit. This was not the hilly part of my course. It was… disappointing to say the least. However, I am quite proud that I was able to get my shiz together for the last three miles and negative split them. I have no idea what was going on there, but I was pretty unhappy about it.

Then, mid-week, I went out and killed it with my fasted 5k time since June, and negative splits.

img_4788

Yup. I’m so confused.

And it didn’t even feel that hard. Not really sure what’s up with ups and downs lately, but I guess I’ll just keep on rollin’ and have faith in the process that race day in October will go well anyway.  I’ve got another 8 on the schedule this weekend, and am hoping to have a much easier ride, that looks better on paper AND feels fine. The weather, though a little rainy looking, should be good temp-wise.

Fingers crossed.

 

Have you ever had a particularly disappointing training cycle… and still had a great race day? I’m hoping I might get lucky here!

This entry was posted in fitness, Perfect 10 Miler, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Faith in the Process

  1. San says:

    I am always so confused when a run FEELS really good (and fast), but is slower than I expected. What’s up with that?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh I hate that! I just have to come to terms with the fact that some days are just harder than others when it comes to running. Maybe it was just an off day?

    Like

  3. You’re going to do great on race day! That adrenaline is going to give you the push you need to get’erdone!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hate that – sometimes I think my Garmin is just messing with me. Way to go with the negative splits!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. babayaga112 says:

    I’m new to your blog so I’m not sure how you’re training and what you’re training for, but bad days happen, even on good weather days. Are you taking rest days? Are you cross-training? Are you doing recovery runs after strenuous runs? Sometimes you just have to listen to your body and take an unscheduled day off.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

