Fever all through the night.

It is race week – normally my favorite time! I’m tapering! I’m relaxing! I’m hydrating.

Except this time I’ve got (dun dun dun) a dreaded cold.

AND I AM NOT HAPPY.

img_5275

Note: Grumpy ass face.

I went bed Monday night feeling like a normal human. Then on Tuesday, I woke up with a uvula the size of my thumb. My throat felt miserable, and I knew it was inevitable. The dreaded cold was coming. I had even been taking Emergen-C all last week to be safe. Zero success.

I’ve been training for dang 10 weeks for a race I love, The Perfect 10 Miler. I got my final race email! I got my bib number! The medals are sparkly and pink! And now the question will be, will I feel well enough to “run” on Sunday? Or will I be the world’s best cowbeller for my mom and BFF while they race their faces off and get their sparkly medals?

I’ve pretty much mentally eliminated the thought that I’ll have a great race day. I ran this race last year and felt fab – luckily, because I was leading my mom into her first ever double digit race finish! I was really hoping I’d come in above those finish times this year, and feel good. However, back in 2013 I ran this race with a chest cold as well, and had one of my worst finish times ever. So I’m hoping maybe somewhere in between the two, if I am able to toe the line.

Until then, I’ll be hydrating, souping, green tea/honey/lemoning and taking all of the Mucinex I can to try to fluuuuuush this darn thing out as quick as humanly possible!

img_5274

Send me your happy thoughts of recovery and all things HEALTHY!

10 thoughts on “Fever all through the night.

    • Pink sparkly medal in hand. I’m thankful it was Sunday because Saturday rained- given how I felt I would have absolutely DNSd on Saturday. But I toed the line Sunday. It was very slow but I finished and lived to tell about it!

      Like

      • Oh, I ran in the rain on Saturday so YES, YES I KNOW. I’m so glad that you were able to get out there and get it done. Are you feeling better now? I hope so!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

